Earlier in Spring, I decided all the perennials  in one particular  garden really needed dividing to maximize their  flowering capacity.  My only problem was the size of the border, it’s not small  – almost 30 metres in length, adding to this I am only there for  around 3 hours a week.  It would have taken for ever.

I came up with a solution, and dug out the old woody centre of each congested clump, rather than digging up, dividing and replanting.

The results this  Summer, are incredible, there are dozens and dozens of stems  waiting to come into flower.

 

This border (which belongs to Eleanor ) contains several personal  favourite flowers,  including :-

Helianthus  Lemon Queen (image from 2015)  A late Summer towering perennial, which regularly  tops out at over 6ft.089

Rudbeckia Herbstonne (image from 2015) .  A stunning tall border perennial.  Flowering from late July onwards.087I often find, that when I lift and divide this perennial the smaller clumps are attractive to slugs, with my new approach they have grown away at an  incredible rate.

Achillea millefolium (image 2015)  A tall back of the border perennial, flat creamy white flower heads.DSCN1028

Leucanthemum Phyllis Smith, a truly magnificent shasta daisy, at just under a metre tall, it is a stunning flower, a firm favourite of mine.006

 
When I first started working in this garden, I made a very neat hoop shaped willow edge to the front of the border.  Six  years on, the hoops have all but disappeared, instead  I  regularly prune  back  the willow at various heights, to enable the perennials to be seen. Rather than being an edge to the border, it has definitely become an integral element.