Late Autumn has proved to be quite a  trying time to be a gardener, with the soil  taking on the consistency of  uncooked christmas pudding.  It has definitely not  been my most productive period.october   2013 236This  week has mainly  been cold, and I have no problem with this,it is getting wet that I have a problem with.

P1040711

my wet coat

Thermals on,  I can happily get on with the tasks in hand, with  shrub pruning and bulb  planting being my main  objectives.  Tulip Lasting Love and  Allium Purple Sensation have been my bulbs of choice today.

I tend to buy my bulbs from Parkers, I find  the quality  constantly good.  They  use to hand write on the  bags, which always made me smile.november   2013 125

November meetings with interesting  plants and bark follow.

008

birch bark

005

Gunnera manicata seed head.