I have finally visited Aberglasney gardens in Carmarthenshire. The late Summer colour in the borders and the use of dahlias was incredibly beautiful and quite perfect. Tithonia and Marigolds towering in the potager. You really should make time to visit this truly stunning restoration project.

P1040490P1040491P1040482P1040477P1040486

P1040498P1040495

  Last weeks return to work after a fortnight off was a visual greeting of fuchsia pink, acid yellow, purple and vivid orange. Colours that remind me of the vibrancy of the paintings of Howard Hodgkin.

P1040531

september     2013 053Combinations of colours that I might normally flinch at suddenly become just perfect.

P1040533P1040530

Dahlias, are under going some what of a resurgence at the moment. These belong to my gardening friend Judy. A rare thing for me but I have developed Dahlia envy.

P1040509P1040516

I wonder which group of plants will become super fashionable again for gardens ? Even though they have never really gone away – grasses are an invaluable element, I think they deserve greater prominence – particularly in domestic gardens. Looking majestic when perennials weave their way through, or when they are planted in single cultivar blocks.

I just wish I could get my customers to get excited about grasses and pampass in particular. I once planted a huge border with a combination of Pampass and silver birch. In winter the combination of white stem, and plume like silvery panicles looked stunning. I am completely aware of its monstrous growth capabilities. Definitely not a plant for a balcony or a container.