To celebrate the World Cup. I have spent this week finding flowers that are relatively ball shaped. Admittedly I have allowed myself some artistic license due to some being more circular than spherical.

DSCN1022DSCN1017DSCN1014DSCN0993DSCN0990

If my rain soaked Chelsea memory serves me right, I don’t think that there were that many alliums floating about. I don’t know why. They are a fabulous flower with such a long shelf life.

DSCN0998DSCN1025

I planted hundreds of Allium Purple Sensation last Autumn, and have watched them emerge and then grow on a really sturdy stem, they have made an incredible impact to many gardens. They look fantastic with Foxgloves, Sisyrinchiums, Roses, Red hot pokers,Peonies and Cercium rivulare Atropurpureum. I have come to the conclusion that they are a must have garden accessory and look fantastic in any planting combination. I fully intend to plant even more later this year.

Enjoy your flowers in whatever shape they come.