november   2013 036

Silver birch,with seed heads of  Alliium Purple Sensation,  just like tiny sparklers.

I noticed the crispness of the field hedgelines earlier this week, their sharp edges against  native grasses and wild flower seed heads looked magnificent.  A new design idea sprang to mind.   I just need  a new and very large garden to put it into practice.   I can see it now,  a giant border with thoughtully selected hedging material planted in a bold and uncompromising manner.   Individually clipped to shape  to  create   back drops  for collections of herbacious perennials  and so creating  miniature individual borders, within the context of one very large border.    I think it is very much in its  conceptual stage at the moment.    If no one or their garden  can take me up  on this challenge then I will create it in my orchard. 

october   2013 143

Sadly two of the gardens in my care, are coming  to an end shortly  as both  owners are moving.       You might think  if the opportunity arose then I would carry on with these gardens for the next occupiers, however for me it does not work quite like that.    I love creating  gardens  for the friends I work for.   Wendy’s   is all Asters, Rudbeckias, Monbretia, and Fushia , with a large smattering  of  Euphorbias.    Wendy loves Cornwall and I feel that it has a bit of a Cornish thing going  – and no there are no pasty shaped island borders in this  garden.     Another couple are on the move,   this  was the most overgrown garden I have ever had the privalege of working in to date.  Five years ago it was border to border ground elder and large conifers.   I can remember the first two years  very clearly, it was quite a  slog,  – but we had our vision.   Everyweek I would spend  three  hours removing ground elder, it was just like ground hog day.   It became the most  beautiul mixed rose and herbaceous border garden I have ever made .  It is heady with scent, and full of blooms.   

One of my friends  actually has a border that is pure ground elder,  it runs along a hawthorn hedge, and when in flower it looks quite magnificent, so if you can cope with it running a muck then it might be the plant for you.

I was out with my good friend Judy  recently, partaking  in afternoon tea  at David Austin Roses in Shifnal.  Our conversation naturally lead to discussing gardens and  how many do I work in –   my answer was  fifteen .  Maybe  two disappearing will give me a little bit more time to breathe, and look after my own.    However I do find it very difficult to say no to wild wilderness gardens that need a little bit of help.

On the subject of colour, Silver birch, red stemmed  dog wood with their butter yellow foliage ready to fall.   I knew I could not get a blog out without going on colour.

november   2013 039

If you were a super tidy gardener, then you would not actually get to see  colour combinations like these giant hosta leaves .  Another one of my mottos “if in doubt leave it another fortnight, and see what happens ”

november   2013 064

Finally, my new  Niwaki japanese secateurs have arrived, they are supremely beautiful and  sharp.  This time I do not intend to  loose them. My next blog will be entitled travels with my secateurs.