freyas   2013 514

It is a very fine line and a can create quite a quandary in how much to cut back at this time of year. For what I consider to be a stately presence, others might not have the same point of view.

freyas   2013 515

It is a fact many herbaceous perennials are starting to fail, with some fantastic seed heads are forming, others are just sort of dissolving in a dishevelled rotten heap – however for the short term they too add to this special time of year as Autumn heads in, and Summer steps back.

So making the decision whether to cut back or not is something that I do not take lightly, as I do not want to become known as the garden butcher of Broseley. I stand, I think, I occasionally cut back, but more often than not I tend to leave and admire the new Autumnal colour and shape of the borders I have made.

the fine art of cutting back

Admittedly cutting back does provide an opportunity to see more. Last week I removed barrow loads of teasels out of a border so that you could see the vision of loveliness that is Helianthus Lemon Queen, as it is looking so mighty fine at the moment.

One of my passions is growing annuals – the more unusual the better in my opinion. I have two favorites this year – wild carrot and Leonotis. It has taken me two years of failed horticultural propagation to get to this point with the latter.

september     2013 065

my 2013 almost top annual

my 2013 almost top annual

Never mind a light cut back, my own garden needs more of a mass strim. I am fortunate in that I have an acre of land of where I am planting an orchard. Yesterday by a complete chance my neighbour very kindly inquired whether I would like it topping out ? we now have a beautiful and accessible orchard once again. I had put it down for mass strimming job in half term week, so now I can look forward to decorating the hall instead – I cannot wait .

just imagine what I would have missed I had cut out the seed head of this peony – I must have known something spectacular was about to happen.

september     2013 081

I do think this Kniphofia looks outstanding against this Euphorbia Fireglow. Look carefully at how the failing pigments in the fireglow match impeccably against the Kniphofia. When I saw this natural colour match I could not believe the combination,

september     2013 055

I do realise I am very fortunate in that I care for a huge variety of gardens – however lurking underneath is the desire to find yet another garden that has lain undisturbed for years, so I can practice my careful art of cutting back. As a practical garden maker, there is nothing more exciting than coming across a new garden that is so overgrown, where the roses are eight foot in height, where the grass has formed hummocks, and you cannot find pathways for those self seeded visitors. Tonight I happened to have a conversation at a party about the possibility of such a dream garden.

Finally onto my garden I always have teasels and vast numbers of great seed bearing plants that last throughout the winter. I am hoping that finches will be tumbling in later this year so that I can watch the great outdoors from the comfort of the great indoors.

my garden

my garden